For orchestra
Duration 41 minutes

Written for the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra, co-commissioned by the Iceland Symphony Orchestra.

AION is a large orchestral work in three parts written in 2018. The three movements are titled Morphosis, Transcension and Entropia.

The piece is composed both as a stand-alone concert work and to be accompanied by choreography.

The piece will be premiered at the Point Music Festival with the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra accompanied by choreography by Erna Ómarsdóttir with the Iceland Dance Company. See here for more information about the event.

About the work

AION is a large orchestral work in three movements written equally as an independent concert work as well as to be performed with choreography. 

AION is inspired by the abstract metaphor of being able to move freely in time, of being able to explore time as a place/space that you inhabit rather than experiencing it as a one-directional journey through a single dimension. Disorienting at first, you realize that time extends in all directions simultaneously and that whenever you feel like it, you can access any moment, even simultaneously. As you learn to control the journey, you find that the experience becomes different by taking different perspectives - you can see every moment at once, focus on just some of them, or go there to experience them. You are constantly zooming in and out, both in dimension and perspective. Some moments you want to visit more than others, noticing as you revisit the same moment, how your perception of it changes.

As with my music generally, the inspiration behind AION is not something I am trying to describe through the music or the piece - to me, the qualities of the music are first and foremost musical.  When I am inspired by a particular element or quality, it is because I perceive it as musically interesting, and the qualities I tend to be inspired by are often structural, like proportion and flow, as well as relationships of balance between details within a larger structure, and how to move in perspective between the two — the details and the unity of the whole. AION moves between the micro and macro on every scale within the work – from the overall structure down to the most minute details in material.


AION for a concert setting

When AION is performed in its entirety in a concert setting, the work is approximately 40 minutes in duration. There are specific score and parts for the concert version.

AION with choreography:

In the version with choreography the music of AION is approximately 45 minutes in duration, and the event is approximately 50 minutes. There are specific score and parts for the version with choreography.